DJI Phantom Video Review

 

I only learned of the DJI Phantom back in November, and being a filmmaker, I was interested to see how well the Phantom would carry the GoPro to film aerial video.  So I contacted the guys over at DSLR Pros and they sent me the new DJI Phantom.
dji_phantomOnce it arrived, I opened it up and right away I could see the build and materials used were only that of high quality.  The body had a slick design that made the DJI Phantom look pretty swanky.  I first had some doubts at it’s small size, but after a few test flights, I was convinced of the DJI Phantom ‘s performance.

So what’s so great about this drone?  Well, the internal components is what got me so excited.  The DJI Phantom is equipped with a gyro, GPS and compass.  These three tools combined make the drone extremely easy to fly, along with some really cool controlling features.

You can mount a GoPro Hero 1, 2 or 3.  Naturally the Hero 3 would be the best because of it’s 2.7K video recording capabilities.

The DJI Phantom comes with a simple mount for the gopro.  My only disappointment was that a gimbal was not included.  With the mount connected directly to the body of the Phantom, this will create more vibration and shakiness in your footage.  But after having enough flight experience, you can get some pretty sweet footage on a calm day.
As a filmmaker, I was super excited at the decent footage that one can capture with the DJI Phantom.  This quadcopter is literally like a steadicam on crack!  Also, if you’re wanting to get an exact shot, you’re going to need to add a FPV (First Person View) Kit to the DJI Phantom, such as a Fat Shark kit.  This will allow you to connect a wireless video transmitter to the gopro, and it will send the video signal to goggles that the pilot wears.  You then would be able to see a live video feed of what the gopro is filming in realtime.

So what’s the price for this flying piece of glory?  It’s currently listed for only $679.00 USD.  For all that the DJI Phantom offers, I was blown away at this price!

Be safe and don’t drink and fly!

ORDER DJI PHANTOM

 

 

28 Responses to “DJI Phantom Video Review”

  1. Mervin June 18, 2014 at 11:17 pm #

    Also check out this interview featuring Eric Cheng, the new director for DJI Innovation, discussing the latest All-In-One with built in camera and 3-Axis gimbal – DJI Phantom 2 Vision+

    http://bestquadcopter.com/dji-phantom-2-vision-plus-eric-cheng-interview/

  2. Christopher June 13, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

    I bought a P2 and love it, the only problem is the batteries were to expensive, I found this one place selling them for $72.99, I ordered a couple and they work great, they are so much better than the $160 alternative from DJI, here is a link to their website if anyone is interested; http://nukerc.com/phantom-2-clone-li-po-battery.html

  3. film maker x January 27, 2014 at 2:20 am #

    hi there,
    iam planing buy a quad copter and a sootable video recording camera + i shold be able remotly change camera angle and view what i record in camera, real time.. also the quadcopter should be able to return to the radio range by itself if it goes out of range.( range should be pretty wide though) can any one suggest the best option for me?

  4. Albert January 12, 2014 at 2:54 pm #

    Hi Guys,

    Amazing website. I have joined recently new phantom 2. I’m really new on quadtcopter world so, can you give me your opinion of this, my first video http://vimeo.com/83601137

    thanks

  5. Tony September 25, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    DJI is coming up with a new version of the Phantom, called the Phantom Vision. It supposedly has an integrated 14MP camera / 1080p video recorder and can be operated using an iOS app.

    http://www.prweb.com/releases/2013/4/prweb10608640.htm

  6. spyros August 30, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    Thanks so much for the quick review. I own A hero 3 Black edition and this is going to be my next purchase.
    Regards.

  7. WS August 16, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    I have an Intova HD 1080 and I’m trying to install it.
    Im having trouble with the mounting kit for gopro for this intova camera.
    Do I have to have another mounting kit for this camera?IF so where do I buy it?
    Thanks.

    • Mike August 16, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

      I don’t know of any at this time.

  8. chris August 16, 2013 at 6:46 am #

    sorry, noob question – how can i take a picture with the gopro during flight? any chances to set the trigger via the remote, or do i have to extract the pictures from the video?
    thx for a reply!

    • Mike August 16, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

      I would setup the self timer on the gopro and set it to take a photo over 1,2,3,5, etc seconds. There is not a switch or shutter button that I know of as of now.

  9. Maxime August 5, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    New record with DJI Phantom:

  10. alpesh sojitra June 4, 2013 at 12:21 am #

    i have intrested to buy this product so pls send me quatation

  11. Keith kapple May 30, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Would it be able to handle the weight of a real dslr and lens?

    • Mike June 1, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

      No, the S800 model can though.

  12. Jason April 16, 2013 at 6:22 am #

    great review, thanks for sharing…question…can you use it with the GoPro housings? most of my work is on and around the water so housing is a must..thanks for your time. Jason

    • Mike April 16, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      Yeah Jason you can, but this will add weight to the craft, resulting in less flying time. You may have to adjust the center point of the mount as well, so that it doesn’t off balance the Phantom.

  13. Simone March 27, 2013 at 5:47 am #

    I just ordered one. Hope can get good gorpo videos.

  14. Mike Paulin March 26, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    Greetings,
    What do you recommend for FPV kit and was is a ‘leaf’ antenna. I am new to video. How does Fat Shark work? If you are wearing goggles to see the video feed, how can you see to fly the quadcopter?
    Thanks

  15. Albert March 21, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    I cant find the e-props on the DSLRpro site. Where did you get them?

  16. Reggie March 21, 2013 at 11:02 am #

    How about the Jello in the video from the GoPro vibration? I use a VGE No Jello Phantom Mount to attach my camera with.

  17. Joel March 20, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    Great review… I’m about to purchase one myself. Just a
    note though if you are in the U.S.A, I believe at the moment it’s
    against FAA regulations to use these for commercial purposes.
    Double-check on that yourself, but that’s what I’ve heard. I’m in
    Canada, there’s some heavy rules here, but it is possible to use
    them legally for commercial purposes.

    • Warner March 21, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

      Yes, using these in the U.S. for commercial purposes is currently illegal by FAA rules. If not, I would get one in a heartbeat!

  18. Mike Paulin March 20, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    I just picked up the GoPro 3 and have not experimented with
    the GoPro ap – However, I think the ap receives the video feed from
    the camera (via wi-fi) and shows you what the camera is looking at.
    I wonder if this will work (what is the range of the wi-fi) instead
    of strapping on another camera for video feed such as Fat Shark.
    Never used the Fat Shark (or heard of it), but if you are wearing
    goggles, how are you going to see where your quadcopter rig is
    flying? Great review!

    • Mike March 20, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

      The wifi is not good for a few reasons… First there’s about a 4 second delay with the Hero 3 and wifi has about a 100 ft range. You’d be a lot better of with a FPV kit with a leaf antenna. Video feed is in real time and a lot further range.

  19. Al Caudullo March 20, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Can it handle the GoPro 3D rig?

    • Mike March 20, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

      I haven’t tested a 3d gopro rig, but I would say there’s enough lift if you upgraded the props to e-props or something inequivalent.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ot: Toy quadcopter recommendations? - April 16, 2014

    […] crashing but I can do OK now. It has stood up to some pretty good crashes, even on concrete. Here is a review of one that will fly a go pro. He mentions at about 4 minutes a live feed to a pair of […]

  2. DJI Phantom Video Review - VidMuze - 熱點新聞網 - August 16, 2013

    […] http://www.vidmuze.com/dji-phantom-video-review/ […]

Leave a Reply